Oboro Became 24th Nigeria Cup Champion

Share this story

Idowu Oboro, has emerged 24th Nigeria Cup Champion after he netted a score of 68 to win the yearly Nigeria Cup, in a tournament organized to celebrate the nation’s 61st Independence anniversary. 

At the competition hosted by Ikoyi Club 1938, Oboro beat his closest rival, Emmanuel Olayiwola Ogunrinde, by two shots. Ogunrinde carded 70-net score, while a two-time winner of the competition, Femi Feyide, also with 70-net score came in the third position.

Feyide lost on countback to the second-placed Ogunrinde.

17-handicapped Victor Adogie was further down on the winner’s list in the fourth position after the 72-net score, while Vivek Changrani completed the top five positions in the net category for men.

Changrani carded a score of 73 to beat Segun Omosehin, who also had 73, on countback.

Peter Eben-Spiff ruled in the gross category for men winning on countback after 79. Former Golf Captain, Uwem Udoh, came second, while Osiregbemeh Egbakhumeh, also with a 79-gross score, came in the third position. OkeyAnanaba’s 81-gross placed him in the fourth position.

Delighted by the outcome of the weeklong competition, Chairman, Ikoyi Golf Community Nigeria Association, (IGCNA), Wahab Aminu-Sarumi, congratulated the winners while showing appreciation to everyone who participated in the competition.

Aminu-Sarumi, who said the competition wouldn’t have been a success without the support of organizations, also commended individuals who supported the event with their money and time.

While thanking the Organizing Committee for a job well done, Aminu-Sarumi urged members of the Club to look forward to another rewarding Nigeria Cup in 2022.

AMNI International Petroleum Development Company Limited is the event’s Partner while Lord’s Gin, Sapetro, Design Union, ND Western, Birdview, Shell, and NNPC are the major sponsors.

The Nigeria Cup is organized yearly by Ikoyi Golf Community Nigeria Association IGCNA

Share this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don’t have an account? Create Account

Don’t have an account? Create Account